TIME IN WHICH A BIRTHPARENT HAS TO REVOKE THEIR CONSENT IN CALIFORNIA HAS BEEN SHORTENED FROM 90 DAYS TO 30 DAYS EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2002.
Prior to January 1, 2002 California law provided that the birthparents who sign an Adoption Placement Agreement (aka California Consent Form) which is usually signed at the hospital, have 90 days in which to revoke their consent to the adoption or sign a waiver of their right to do so. Birthparents may not revoke their consent after signing such a waiver or after the 90 days have elapsed, whichever event first occurs.
However, effective 1/1/02 modifications to California Family Code Sections 8801.3 and 8814.5 as well as others, shorten this 90 day period to 30 days.
Therefore, a birthparent who signs the Adoption Placement Agreement would now have only 30 days in which to revoke their consent to the adoption or sign a waiver of the right to do so.
Back to Top
Back to News